What is Halal?

“Halal” means “Permissible” in Arabic and refers to the dietary law of Islam, which practicing Muslims follow.  Similar to Kosher food for Jews, Halal food avoids anything derived from swine flesh (pork, bacon, lard, gelatin, etc.) as well as alcohol (beer, wine, etc.).  Animals which are considered lawful to consume for Muslims include Halal chicken, beef, lamb, goat, turkey, deer, and seafood. In order for the meat to be considered “Halal” the animal must be slaughtered in a specific way and the name of God must be mentioned at the time of slaughtering the animal by a Muslim.  Of course there are different interpretations of what is considered Halal and what is not, but the main goal is to keep away from those items which God has instructed us to avoid for better health and a longer life.  Usually, but not always, the animals used for Halal meat are fed natural grains, grass or corn and are not injected with any hormones or harmful chemicals.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>